exploring how to obtain illustrations for book on human vision

David R. Purnell, MA, AMI
@david-r-purnell-ma-ami
6 years ago
6 posts

Hello William and Peter,

Peter, thank you for mentioning me to William.
NOTE: I don't recall having received an email notification about this. I saw this inquiry by William Poynter only today (a month since he posted it).

William, I am a professional medical illustrator with 44 year of experience. You can click on my profile photo to view my profile info. There, you can click on the "gallery" button to view 3 pages of examples of my work. You can view each image larger by clicking on it. To return to the smaller image sizes, scroll back up to the top of the page and click the "gallery" button.

There is also a link (to behance-dot-net) to my fuller online portfolio of my illustrations.
NOTE: On the Behance site, in addition to my medical illustrations, you'll see a section, "Non-medical illustrations."
That might also be of interest to you, as regards illustrations for a book whose audience is ages ±6-12.

Regarding your "2) are there software applications that might enable me to create such illustrations myself (i.e., applications specifically designed to create illustrations of microbiology content?)" — I'm not aware of any such software applications.

Regarding ". . . illustrations for a book dealing with the anatomy and function of the human eye, designed primarily for children (~ age 6-12)" — I can appreciate that for this age group, you would not want illustrations that are "styled" for medical students or medical professionals.