Help with proofreading

Ilaria Maria Grimaldi
Ilaria Maria Grimaldi
@ilaria-maria-grimaldi
5 years ago
5 posts

Hi,

I need my document to be proofread. It is about GMO's management. Can anybody help please?

Thanks,

Ilaria

updated by @ilaria-maria-grimaldi: 02/06/16 07:57:53PM
Bryan Hugill
Bryan Hugill
@bryan-hugill
5 years ago
3 posts

Hi Ilaria -

Can you perhaps give us a bit more info about your document? Language, style, number of words, budget for the job, etc.? I'd be interested in helping you with this job, but the request is a bit vague.

Thanks!

Bryan

Ilaria Maria Grimaldi
Ilaria Maria Grimaldi
@ilaria-maria-grimaldi
5 years ago
5 posts

Hi Bryan,

Sorry to be vague but this is my first time and I did not know how it worked. So, the document is my master's thesis, which was completed and submitted in 2008. It was never fully proofread, however, I have it on my academia page and it is often consulted, so I would like it to present a corrected version. It is 8462 words long which I can upload if this is the procedure. As for the budget, an English teacher asked me for 15 pounds per hour, is this the usual price? I have no clue.

Cheers,

Ilaria

Jane Mackay, Janemac Editing
@jane-mackay-janemac-editing
5 years ago
10 posts

Hi Ilaria,

If you email me your document I'll give you a quote for proofing it. Many of my clients are professors and academic journals, so I am experienced at copy editing and proofreading academic research papers. My email address is jm.editing@gmail.com

The English teacher's quote of 15 British pounds per hour sounds reasonable. My only caution would be to check that the teacher has knowledge of the particular requirements of academic editing. I recommend asking for a sample edit of 3-5 pages, which I will also be happy to provide you.

I have two questions:

1. What style guide (e.g., APA, MHRA) did you follow when writing your thesis?

2. What is your time frame for having the proofing done?